Balls

(Warning: post contains angst and some swearing.)

Weigh in completed – 2.5lbs gained.

Excuse my French, but… bollocks.

Here’s my weekly tracker for this past week:

As you can see, my daily totals are fairly high throughout the week, culminating in Sunday’s BBQ extravaganza. It was impossible to accurately gauge the points of everything I ate on Sunday. I allowed myself 39 points (basically using up the rest of my weekly allowance) to cover it, but I’m not convinced it was enough.

I’ve had a bit of a cry on H’s shoulder, and a bit of a rethink over a consolatory latte (3 points). The two other women who started Weight Watchers on the same day as me have both now lost more than 9lbs each, and with today’s gain, I have lost a sum total of 4lb. Which feels crushingly unfair, given the amount of work and thought I have put in over the past 3 weeks. But like I said this morning, nothing seems to work the same way for me as it does for others. I haven’t even hit my first 7lb goal yet, despite losing 6.5lb in my first week. It’s shit. My group leader was no help, muttering something about ‘portion control’ and ‘see how you go next week.’

That said, I am not going down without a fight. I have to adapt until I find what works, so here’s what I am going to do this week:

  • On a ‘normal’ day, stick within my daily allowance (35 points) as far as reasonably practicable.
  • Save my 49 weekly points for unexpected events and ‘abnormal’ days: meals out, staying away from home (on business etc).
  • Make absolutely sure that I drink my water allowance every day.

What I had been doing was using my daily points for healthy/normal foods, and then using the 7 extra every day for my treat. I think I have to be more careful than most, because I lose so slowly, and so having my weekly points as a deficit ‘buffer’ should make a difference in my weight loss without impacting upon my ‘enjoyment’ of food every day. I have to have that treat to look forward to every day, or else I will fail utterly before I even start.

Let’s see how this works. I will continue to blog, and I will try not to be too EMO about it all. I’m pissed off, but I’m determined to carry on. I’m getting too old for this shit.

This entry was posted in Weigh in, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balls

  1. angelapea says:

    Sorry for the angst – it does stink when you’re working hard to get it done and the scale doesn’t cooperate.

    I will concede to your leader that portion control IS important. When I hit a plateau, I pull out the measuring cups and the food scale and start measuring my food again. Over time, my brain gets lax and starts seeing a 1 cup portion as “regular sized”. A single portion of fruit or veggies is 1/2 cup; a portion of protein (chicken, beef) is 3 oz. Look carefully at the portions allotted in the tracker; if you’re consuming larger portions, then you’re using up your points! My downfall? Peanut butter. I swear, 1/2 of a jar is only 2 tablespoons! 🙂

    Chin up. Get yourself focused on this week and all will be well.

  2. antiprism says:

    Hey Angela;
    Thanks for the encouragement.
    Part of the reason I am so hacked off this week (and last week, to an extent) is that I am fastidious about weighing and measuring everything that has points associated with it. My leader asked if I was tracking my foods and I can truthfully say I am tracking everything – even measuring out my milk in the morning to use in cups of tea and coffee throughout the day – and her only response seemed to be ‘well… um… track everything a bit *more*.’
    I know she means well, and it’s not in her interest to see me fail, but I just felt very dispirited and could have done with a bit more input.
    Hey ho – you can’t have everything! I refuse to give in, so this week I will just have to step up the exercise and hope my ankle holds out.
    Hope you have had a better week than me!
    A x

Leave a Reply

