Day 8: Another promise, and further encouragement

I promise I will not harm myself with food today. I will stick to the plan, just for this one day, and see about tomorrow when it comes.

This morning hubby and I completed ‘Week 4, day 4’ of ‘Couch to 5k’ (C25K) using the nifty little app on my phone. A warm up, then a 3 minute run, 90 sec walk, 5 min run, 3 min walk, repeat, and then cool down. For the first time I didn’t feel like the hill in the middle was going to defeat me. I didn’t have shin-splints, and I didn’t get too wheezy until right near the end. I felt wonderful afterwards.

This morning the scales said 235.2lbs. Again, this is good progress – but I have to take it with a pinch of low-sodium salt. I had a bit of an upset stomach this morning (something I ate yesterday, as far as I can tell) and I am also just about to start my period. Most people report bloating and weight gain right before menstruation but for some reason I get the opposite (usually): a sudden drop in weight, followed by a sharp up-tick in the days during and after. I note this here so that I can come back to this when the up-tick occurs, and remember not to berate myself for physiology that I can’t control.

I have not harmed myself with food for 8 full days, and I will not do so today. That is what matters, not the scales.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

